Current Position: News  /  Presidential election: Ram Nath Kovind, Meira Kumar to file nomination today
Presidential election: Ram Nath Kovind, Meira Kumar to file nomination today

As the battle lines for presidential election have been drawn, former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar, NDA's  presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind, will file their nomination today in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi,  BJP chief  Amit Shah and chief ministers of NDA-ruled states.

The BJP has  turned this event into a mega show of strength, as party has called it's top leaders,  cheif ministers from UP,  MP,  Maharastra, Rajasthan will come to Delhi to join Kovind to file his nomination paper. \"Ram Nath Kovind will file his nomination at Parliament House at 11.45 a.m,\" the Lok Sabha Secretariat said in a statement today.

Kovind is all set to sail through the July 17 presidential election by a comfortable margin, even though a contest is set, as the Opposition parties on Thursday named former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar as their nominee for the top constitutional post.

The NDA, including the Shiv Sena and the PDP of Jammu and Kashmir, commands the support of 48.93 per cent of electoral made up of MPs and MLAs. 


The BJP will also set up a special war room for coordination of presidential election at 10 Akbar Road.  BJP leader Bhupendra Yadav and minister Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi will be the in-charge of party's war room for the president election.

A team of legal experts has also been engaged to check all the formalities.

The BJP sources said four sets of nomination papers have been prepared and each will be signed by  PM Modi, Amit Shah, Telugu Desam Party chief and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu, and former Punjab Chief Minister Parkash Singh Badal.

Congress President Sonia Gandhi announced the name of the senior party leader at a meeting of 17 parties, including the Left,  Trinamool Congress,  Samajwadi Party,  Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP),  DMK  and the National Conference. With the announcement of Meira Kumar's candidature against National Democratic Alliance's Ram Nath Kovind,  the stage is set for a Dalit-versus-Dalit contest for the country's top constitutional post.

The counting of votes will take place on July 20.

The term of President Pranab Mukherjee ends on July 24.


Meira Kumar vs Ram Nath Kovind for President? 10 things we know so far

Presidential election: After EPS, now Team OPS supports BJP nominee Ram Nath Kovind


Presidential election: Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind is NDA candidate